Anything peaceful and voluntary.

Dressed for a Funeral by Chris Dates

What to the slave is the 4th of July?”

-Frederick Douglass

I slammed the hood shut on a car I was working on the other day, and something caught my eye. There was a sticker on the windshield that struck me as odd, and immediately I couldn’t help but notice the irony. It was a picture of the Culpeper Minutemen, and the sticker happened to be a county tax sticker.

For those who don’t know what these stickers are, they represent that you have paid the yearly tax on your private property–your vehicle. The sticker is placed on the windshield so that the King’s Men know to back off as you drive on the King’s roads-all licensed, registered, and subjugated. A sticker that is up-to-date will help to ward off unwanted attention from armed tax collectors. As one who thinks it is absurd to have to place a sticker on my vehicle to prove that I’m being an obedient subject, I couldn’t help but laugh out loud a bit when I first saw this stupid sticker.

Any Riflemen in this area knows The Culpeper Minutemen were a group of men who were formed under the same oak tree–not once, but twice to fight off centralized tyranny–and now they are immortalized on a tax stamp.

Fitting for the times we find ourselves in.

Last year I wrote an essay just before Independence Day, and I started the essay out with this quote from Frederick Douglass.

My subject, then, fellow citizens, is American slavery. I shall see this day and its popular characteristics from the slave’s point of view. Standing there identified with the American bondman, making his wrongs mine. I do not hesitate to declare with all my soul that the character and conduct of this nation never looked blacker to me than on this Fourth of July!”

This Douglass quote rings just as true today as it did for him back then.

See the rest:  http://zerogov.com/?p=2729

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers