Anything peaceful and voluntary.

Wish I were here

I just wanted to drop a quick note to those of my friends who will be attending Libertopia this year, that regrettably I will not be joining you this year.

The reason is that my wife came down with a bad case of lung cancer this past spring. By the time we figured out what was wrong with her it was fairly extensive, and she spent four weeks in the hospital. She’s at home now, slowly getting better, and going through repeated grueling rounds of chemotherapy treatments (she also had radiation treatments but those are done for now).

A side effect (a “paraneoplastic syndrome” as the doctors call it) of this cancer was that antibodies attacked the neural interface to her long muscles, particularly in her legs, effectively crippling her. By the time she checked into the hospital she could barely traverse 10 feet using a walker. She also lost 40 pounds in in the last 6 weeks before she was hospitalized, and she was not particularly heavy to start with.

Since then the treatments seem to be working, she is gaining her strength and her healthy weight back, but at this point I simply cannot take a 6-day trip (by car as I refuse to fly the friendly TSA skies) away from her. So, I’m sitting this festival out, but with any luck I’ll return next year. And maybe I’ll persuade her to come with me.

My best regards to all of you.

 

2 responses

  1. My heart and best wishes go out to you and your wife. You are where you should be. I’m sure many of us have the same thought–we hope to see you both at Libertopia next year!

    October 6, 2012 at 8:54 pm

  2. berserkrl

    Sad news, but glad to hear your wife is recovering. We’ll miss you!

    October 6, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

